Siemens Healthcare Global Website


The Role of Autoantibodies in Women’s Health

Please select an option below:

> Please click here to register or login


Date: Tuesday, May 27, 2014
Time: 11:00 a.m. EDT / 8:00 a.m. PDT / 5:00 p.m. CEST

Leslie J. De Groot M.D.
Research Professor
Dept of Cellular and Molecular Biology
University of Rhode Island, Providence, RI
Emeritus Professor of Medicine, University of Chicago

Autoimmune disease is the main cause of thyroid disorders. It is more prevalent in women than in men at a ratio of 8:1. The most common thyroid diseases are Graves’ disease and Hashimoto’s thyroiditis, both caused by autoantibodies. The assessment of a woman’s thyroid status before conception and during pregnancy is a critical indicator of a successful outcome for both mother and baby. This webinar explores the causes and mechanisms of autoimmune thyroid disease with a focus on women’s health.

Learning Objectives:

  • Understand the impact of autoimmune thyroid disease on women’s health including fertility, pregnancy and post-partum
  • Learn about the causes of autoimmunity and the mechanism of how autoantibodies cause thyroid disease
  • Be aware of the current guidelines and recommendations on screening women for thyroid status before and during pregnancy

Siemens continues to provide educational opportunities on key topics important to laboratory science and clinical implementation. We invite you to participate in other Siemens webinars and to check back often. As your trusted partner, Siemens is committed to helping you stay on the forefront of laboratory medicine.


> Home
> Test Your System
> Help


           Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics Inc. 2007-2009  |  Corporate Information  |  Privacy Statement  |  Terms of Use